Guide to resources in renewal energy, including solar, wind, fuel cell, and other forms.
Last Updated: Oct 21, 2014
- Energy Citations Database (ECD)
The Energy Citations Database (ECD) provides free access to over 2.6 million science research citations with continued growth through regular updates.
- DOE Green Energy Portal
Results from thousands of DOE-sponsored research and development projects about various forms of green energy, including solar, wind, bioenergy, and others.
- Environment Complete
Online version of Environmental Index
- ISI Web of Science
Interdisciplinary science database, includes citation searching.
- EI Engineering Village - Compendex
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
Knovel provides engineers and scientists with access to over 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 50 international publishers and professional societies through a single interface.
- Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
The basic component of the library is a 50- to 100-page "Lecture"; a self-contained electronic book that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by an expert contributor to the field.
- The National Academies presents: What You Need to Know About Energy
As debates about energy grow more intense, Americans need dependable, objective, and authoritative energy information. The National Academies, advisers to the nation on science, engineering, and medicine, provide the facts about energy
- Researcher's Toolkit from Sustainability: Science, Practice, Policy
Databases of academic programs, experts, datasets, and dissertations in sustainability.
- Monthly Energy Review
The Monthly Energy Review (MER) is the U.S. Energy Information Administration’s primary report of recent energy statistics. Included are total energy production, consumption, and trade; energy prices; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, and international petroleum; carbon dioxide emissions; and data unit conversions.
- Ohio Energy Profile | Energy Data, Information, and Maps
Comprehensive profile of Ohio's energy generation capacity and consumption from all forms of energy. From the Energy Information Administration.
This widget only works on the University of Toledo campus. To search Knovel off-campus use this link: Knovel
- Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)
A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975 as well as more recent reports.
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
- Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®)
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today .
Science.gov searches over 40 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Ciencia.Science.gov busca en más de 55 bases de datos y en más de 2100 sitios web de 13 agencias federales, ofreciendo 200 millones de páginas de información científica de gran autoridad de los E.E.U.U., incluyendo resultados de investigación y desarollo. El sitio web de Ciencia.Science.gov esta gobernado por la inter-agencia Participantes de la Alianza
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
Recent articles published by UT Faculty in the GreenFILE database
For additional information on patent searching see http://libguides.utoledo.edu/Patents
- US Patent & Trademark Office Homepage
The USPTO mission is to ensure that the intellectual property system contributes to a strong global economy, encourages investment in innovation, and fosters entrepreneurial spirit.
- Patent Full-Text and Full-Page Image Databases
US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO)
- How to View Patent Full-Page Images From USPTO
PTO's full-page images, nearly four terabytes overall, are stored and delivered at full 300 dots per inch (d.p.i.) resolution in an image file format called "TIFF," using CCITT Group 4 compression. This is the format which is required by the international standards to which all patent offices must conform. TIFF is also the most used lossless image format in the world. Unfortunately, due to the volume of the image data, available funding, and other technical considerations, PTO cannot convert the
- USPTO - Patent Statistics Reports
Provides links to listings of Patent Technology Monitoring Team (PTMT) reports that are available for viewing.
- USPTO Classification Homepage
The Office of Patent Classification maintains the U.S. Patent Classification system.
- USPTO - Related Links
Links to US government sites & international patent office sites.
- Toledo-Lucas County Public Library Patent Collection
Since 1934, Main Library has been a United States Patent and Trademark Depository Library, housing a collection of patent information dating from 1849.
- European Patent Office
A collection open to the world. The EPO holds one of the largest digital repositories of public knowledge in the world.
- Japan Patent Office
Official site of the Japan Patent Office.
- Japanese, Chinese or Korean Patent Help
This virtual help desk provides answers to the most frequently asked questions on patents and patent information in China, India, Japan and Korea. You can also find background information on filing trends and granting procedures and some guidance on common patent terminology of Asian patents.
- Google Patents
Search over 7 million patents
A digital repository for the nation’s great research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the immense collections of partner institutions.
The FreePatentsOnline search engine is one of the most powerful, fastest and easiest patent search engines on the web.
Patents.com provides one of the most comprehensive free patent search sites on the web.
Download U.S. patents (in PDF) and more!
Click on link to watch video.